ALL INDIA SPORTS COUNCIL OF THE DEAF

XXV NATIONAL CHESS CHAMPIONSHIP OF THE DEAF

NITHYANANDA KALYANA MANTAPA, VISHWESHWARA NAGAR, MYSURU, KARNATAKA DATE:-05 TO 09January 2025

Performance and Achievement Report's

As part of its policy to organize national championships across various sports and games, the All India Sports Council of the Deaf has entrusted the Karnataka Sports Federation of the Deaf, Bengaluru, with hosting the XXV National Chess Championship of the Deaf. This event was cohosted by its district body, the Mysore District Deaf Association (R), Mysuru.

The championship took place at Nithyananda Kalyana Mantapa, Vishweshwara Nagar, Mysuru, Karnataka, from January 5 to 9, 2025. A total of 22 affiliated states, comprising Senior Men & Women and Junior Boys & Girls categories, will participate in the event.

Under the leadership of Mr. Mahesh Varma, Organizing Secretary, the host has made comprehensive arrangements for the lodging and boarding of all participants.

The XXV National Chess Championship of the Deaf was inaugurated on 05th January 2025 by the following Eminent Guests :

| Name of Eminent Guests | Designation | | | |
|---------------------------------|--|--|--|--|
| Mr. S. Murthy | Chairman of MDDA Mysuru | | | |
| Mr. Ramesh Bandisiddegowda | MLA, Srirangapattana Constituency | | | |
| Mr. G.T. Devegowda | MLA, Chamundeshwari Constituency | | | |
| Special Guests from the All Ind | is Sports Council of the Deaf | | | |
| | | | | |
| Mr. V. Kumar | President | | | |
| Mr. G. Suresh Kumar | Hony. Gen. Secretary | | | |
| Mr. Subhash Kapoor | Technical Director (Chess) | | | |
| | | | | |
| Judges | Panel | | | |
| M.V. Raghavendra FA | Chief Arbiter | | | |
| Abhilash T | Deputy Chief Arbiter | | | |
| Amith, T | Arbiter | | | |
| Jhanshi Lakshmi Arbiter | | | | |
| Organizing Committee | | | | |
| Mahesh Varma | Organising Secretary of 25th NCCD Mysuru | | | |
| Naveen Kumar G.S. | General Secretary of KSFD | | | |
| Mahesh S.T. | President of MDDA, Mysuru | | | |

Mr. S. Murthy, Chairman of MDDA Mysuru, was delighted to witness the large turnout of deaf chess players. She praised the organizers for conducting the competition on such a grand scale, providing a platform to encourage deaf players in mainstream development. She also extended her best wishes to all participants for their success in the tournament.

Glimpse Of the Event



Inauguration Ceremony



25th National Chess Championship Started in Presence of the Guests

| NAME OF PARTICIPATING STATES Combined Seniors (Men and Women) and Juniors Players (Boys and Girls) Group | | | | | | | |
|---|--|----|----------------|--|--|--|--|
| SI. No. | o. Name of Participating States SI. No. Name of Participating States | | | | | | |
| 1 | Andhra Pradesh | 12 | Madhya Pradesh | | | | |
| 2 | Bihar | 13 | Maharashtra | | | | |
| 3 | Chhattisgarh | 14 | Odisha | | | | |
| 4 | Delhi | 15 | Pondicherry | | | | |
| 5 | Goa | 16 | Punjab | | | | |
| 6 | Gujarat | 17 | Rajasthan | | | | |
| 7 | Haryana | 18 | Tamil Nadu | | | | |
| 8 | Jammu and Kashmir | 19 | Telangana | | | | |
| 9 | Jharkhand | 20 | Uttar Pradesh | | | | |
| 10 | Karnataka | 21 | Uttarakhand | | | | |
| 11 | Kerala | 22 | West Bengal | | | | |

Organizing Secretary Mr. Mahesh Varma and the team of Mysore District Deaf Association (R), Mysuru, ensured a well-arranged venue with comfortable tables, chairs, and chess clocks. The players competed in a calm and disciplined manner, enjoying the pleasant atmosphere of the championship.

Mr. Subhash Kapoor, Tournament Director (Chess), and Mr. Darshan Kshirsagar, Assistant Tournament Director (Chess), efficiently managed the championship under the supervision of the Judges Panel.



Picture on Participants



Chess Players in action

The 25th National Chess Championship of the Deaf concluded on Wednesday, January 8, 2025. **Final Standings:**

- Men's Category: Vivek Bhaskar Watpade from Maharashtra secured the top position with 8 points.
- Women's Category: Internationally acclaimed player Yashaswi K from Karnataka maintained her lead with 6.5 points.
- Junior Boys' Category: Ankit Ganguly from West Bengal emerged as the leader with 7 points.
- Junior Girls' Category: Shreya Y S from Karnataka claimed the top spot with 6 points.

The XXV National Chess Championship of the Deaf was Prize Distribution Ceremony on 08 January 2025 by the following Eminent Guests :

| SI. No. | Name of Eminent Guests | Designation |
|---------|------------------------|-------------------------------------|
| 1. | Dr. Mahanthesh G.K. | Managing Trustee, Samarthanam Trust |
| 2. | M.S. Thej Kumar | Grand Master, Mysuru |
| 3. | Sunil M Kandkur | President of KSFD |

Photos on Prize Distribution ceremony



All Trophies

Men Category Winner Vivek WatpadeFrom Maharashtra



Women Category Winner Yashaswi K. From Karnataka



Junior Boys Category Winner Ankit Ganguly From West Bengal





Overall Winner- Karnataka team

Overall Runner-Kerala Team



Overall Third-Bihar Team

On 08th January during concluding ceremony, the winners were awarded cash prizes and certificates of Merit as detailed below.

| Rank | Men's Name | State | Cash Prize | Rank | Women's Name | State | Cash Prize |
|------|--------------------------|--------------|--------------|------|-----------------------|-----------|--------------|
| 1 | Vivek Bhaskar Watpade | Maharashtra | Rs. 25,000/- | 1 | Yashaswi K. | Karnataka | Rs. 25,000/- |
| 2 | Devendra Shrihari Vaidya | Maharashtra | Rs. 20,000/- | 2 | Ambika N Masagi | Karnataka | Rs. 20,000/- |
| 3 | Sourabh Hans | Haryana | Rs. 15,000/- | 3 | Malika Handa | Punjab | Rs. 15,000/- |
| 4 | Mahendra Pal | Chhattisgarh | Rs. 10,000/- | | | | |
| 5 | Nipun Aditya Mohanty | Odisha | Rs. 5,000/- | | | | |
| 6 | Sagar Ghodke | Maharashtra | Rs. 4,000/- | | | | |
| Rank | Junior Boy's Name | State | Cash Prize | Rank | Junior Girl's Name | State | Cash Prize |
| 1 | Ankit Ganguly | West Bengal | Rs. 15,000/- | 1 | Y.S. Shreya | Karnataka | Rs. 15,000/- |
| 2 | A Roshan | Pondicherry | Rs. 10,000/- | 2 | Nikita Suzanne Mathew | Kerala | Rs. 10,000/- |
| 3 | Anubhav S | Karnataka | Rs. 5,000/- | 3 | Chavi Singh | Haryana | Rs. 5,000/- |

| | Men Team | | | Women Team | |
|---|-------------|--------|---|------------|--------|
| 1 | Maharashtra | Winner | 1 | Karnataka | Winner |
| 2 | Gujarat | Runner | 2 | Punjab | Runner |
| 3 | Karnataka | Third | 3 | Tamil Nadu | Third |

| Junior Boys Team | | | Junior Girls Team | | |
|------------------|-----------|--------|-------------------|----------------|--------|
| 1 | Karnataka | Winner | 1 | Karnataka | Winner |
| 2 | Bihar | Runner | 2 | Kerala | Runner |
| 3 | Kerala | Third | 3 | Madhya Pradesh | Third |

| Overall Team | | | | |
|--------------|-----------|--------|--|--|
| 1 | Karnataka | Winner | | |
| 2 | Kerala | Runner | | |
| 3 | Bihar | Third | | |

We extend our heartfelt gratitude to MYAS, GOI, SAI, the Management Committee of the All India Sports Council of the Deaf, the host Karnataka Sports Federation of the Deaf, Bengaluru, and the co-host Mysore District Deaf Association (R), Mysuru. We also thank all affiliated state units for their support in making the 25th National Chess Championship of the Deaf a resounding success.

Date :- 21 January 2025.

M

Subhash Kapoor Technical Director Chess AISCD

Darshan Kshirsagar Asst. Technical Director Chess AISCD